March 3, 2017

PASCO Scientific and National Science Teachers Association Honor Three Teachers with the PASCO NSTA STEM Educator Awards for Innovative Inquiry-Based, Technology-Infused Programs

The winners of the fifth annual STEM Educator Awards have been announced

Roseville, Calif. — March 3, 2017 — To recognize excellence and innovation in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM), PASCO® Scientific announces the winners of the 2017 PASCO NSTA STEM Educator Awards. The annual awards program for middle and high school educators is sponsored by PASCO Scientific, a global leader in 21st century science education, in partnership with the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), the largest organization in the world committed to promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all.

PASCO and NSTA have honored 24 educators since the award’s inception in 2012. This year’s PASCO STEM Educator Award winners are Brian Soash, a science teacher and STEM program coordinator at Lee County Middle School West in Leesburg, Ga.; Shannon Sahabi, a science teacher at Tom C. Clark High School in San Antonio, Texas; and Steve Sogo, a chemistry teacher at Laguna Beach High School in Laguna Beach, Calif. The winners were selected by the NSTA Awards and Recognition Committee, a distinguished panel of professional science educators. The descriptions of the winning entries can be found at

Recipients will receive up to $1,000 for expenses to attend NSTA’s National Conference and participate in a STEM share-a-thon workshop, a $500 monetary gift, and a $5,000 certificate for PASCO products. The conference will be held March 30–April 2 in Los Angeles where winners will be formally recognized.

As part of the application process, educators submitted a narrative describing how they address a real-world application or problem integrating the elements of STEM, incorporate sensor-based data collection and visualization technologies, teach students of varying ability levels, and support national science education standards. They also included examples of student work, along with letters of support from education colleagues.

“Teachers know that when they combine an inquiry-based approach to learning with real-world technologies, students’ interest and performance in STEM soars,” said Steven Korte, CEO of PASCO. “We’re honored to recognize these innovative educators for their implementation of inquiry-based, technology-infused programs that engage students and take learning to a higher level.”

PASCO has been designing, developing, and supporting innovative teaching and learning solutions for K–12 and higher education since 1964. PASCO’s team of educators, scientists, educational researchers, engineers, and many others is committed to the advancement of STEM education around the world. Today teachers and students in more than 100 countries use PASCO solutions. For more information, visit


PASCO and PASPORT are registered trademarks of PASCO Scientific. SPARK Science Learning System, SPARK, SPARKscience, SPARKvue, SPARKlink, SPARKlabs, MultiMeasure Sensors and MatchGraph are trademarks of PASCO Scientific. Mac, iPad and iPod touch are registered trademarks of Apple Computer, Inc.; iPhone is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.; App Store is a service mark of Apple Computer, Inc. Windows is a registered trademark of Microsoft, Inc. Android, Chromebook, the Google Play store icon, and the Chrome Web Store icon are trademarks of Google, Inc. Bluetooth is a registered trademark of Bluetooth SIG. All other brands, products, or service names are or may be trademarks or service marks of, and are used to identify products or services of their respective owners.


Leslie Eicher
Eicher Communications
Media Inquiries Only: 314-965-1776